Day 64: Tues 9/16, Ancient Cliff Dwellings, Badass Theater!! 51 miles

Well today was quite an adventure. It rained all night and into the morning. Once again, I am grateful to be on pavement and not slogging through mud.

Last night I met the two wonderful ladies camping next to me. They are from Tuscon AZ and the Gila Hot Springs is a very special place for them because they got married there. Cool! They are amazing people with beautiful souls. So stoked I met them. Thanks for sharing your spaghetti dinner and wine! πŸ™‚

I rode out from the hot springs and got rained on. The cliff dwellings were well worth it. I’m so glad I took this detour! It was amazing!! The place has been inhabited for hundreds of years, by different civilizations. First by hunter gatherers, then the people who built actual structures there. There are 6 caves in total. Some used as living areas, some as storage. I got to walk in some of the caves.

IMG_5013.JPG

IMG_5014.JPG

IMG_5015.JPG

IMG_5016.JPG

The ride out was wet and cold. Lol. Interestingly enough the climb up and over the mountains weren’t too bad. I was up in thick fog on and off.

IMG_5020.JPG

In the historic town of Pinos Altos, in the mountains just above a Silver City, lie possibly the coolest bar I’ve been to the entire route. It was built in the mid 1800s and has 16″ thick adobe walls. I forgot to take a pic of the exterior BUMMER! But the inside was amazing. It literally looked like you walked into a saloon in the Wild West.

IMG_5021.JPG

And even cooler, it’s adjacent to an old opera house theater that still functions as a performance venue, and even has it’s own bar. I’m convinced I need to come back here and do a show. πŸ™‚ And to add to the coolness, the place is haunted! πŸ˜€

IMG_5023.JPG

IMG_5022.JPG

The ride down to Silver City was wet. But hey that’s nothing new I’ve been getting rained on the last few days. Lol!

IMG_5024.JPG

I got some info from the local bike shop about a place called The Bikehaus that welcomed divide riders. Cool!! The place is so awesomely weird! When I got there, one guy was building a mobile chicken coop. I stayed in a loft, in a loft where they make gigantic paper mΓ’chΓ© puppets. It’s one of those houses that seem to have no end. Lol! I loved quirky cool places like that. πŸ™‚

IMG_5025.JPG

Silver City is a cool town. It has a downtown historic art district, and a nearby university. I dig. πŸ™‚

By the way, there’s a flash flood warning for all of southern New Mexico. Greeeeeeeat…. Lol

One thought on “Day 64: Tues 9/16, Ancient Cliff Dwellings, Badass Theater!! 51 miles

  1. I’m sad that your trip will be ending soon as I have enjoyed reading every single blog and seeing your pictures. I enjoyed hearing a little more about your thoughts when you were at the house with the rock climbers and your comparisons of “energy and vibes” between Hawaii and NM, and how dance is a grounding force for you.
    Hope the remaining miles are every bit as rewarding as 2,000+ miles you’ve put behind you.
    aloha
    mary

Please leave a comment! :)

