Day 60: Fri 9/12, easy ridin’ to Pie Town! 48 miles

Oooooh today was absolutely divine. I’m understanding now why they call New Mexico the Land of Enchantment. This place is truly enchanted. πŸ™‚

All day it was awesomely mellow riding. I know it’s not gonna be like this for long so I definitely am grateful for the reprieve in difficult climbs. Lol! I started in some forest-ish looking terrain.

IMG_4981-0.JPG

Then I dropped a bit into wide open plains.

IMG_4982.JPG

All through my route, especially in New Mexico, I’ve passed by a lot of historic abandoned ranches. They’re really cool looking. I finally took a pic of one.

IMG_4984.JPG

I easily rode the 48 miles into pie town, yay! I found the Toaster House. This place is pretty much legendary amongst Divide walkers and cyclists. Put it this way, I heard about the toaster house way before I even started the Divide ride. Lol! It’s a house in Pie Town that exists as a place for travelers to stay. The family that used to live here isn’t in the house anymore, and Nita (who used to live here) lives down the road and maintains this house for travelers. Here’s Nita taking a picture of me, taking a picture of her:

IMG_4986.JPG

So the crazy thing is, the annual Pie Town pie festival is tomorrow, and so when I showed up at the Toaster House, part of the family that used to live here is actually in town for the festival!! What a treat it was to meet everyone! The family originally consisted of mom dad 3 daughters and 2 sons. Parents have since split, but all the family was in town except for the two sons and one of the daughters.

I took a cruise around town with some of the gals. New Mexico is a huge place for astronomy because there is so little light pollution. They have a huge radio antenna here, as well as other parts of the US (including Mauna Kea, Hawaii), and together they all point at something in the sky. It was so cool to see this gigantic thing in the middle of nowhere, randomly rotating. I wonder if it’s speaking to aliens. Lol!

IMG_4985.JPG

Here’s some pics of some of the gals I was hangin with today. This is Emily, a cousin of the Family.

IMG_4987.JPG

Here’s Autumn (one of the daughters), and family friend from Brazil.

IMG_4989.JPG

The super awesome thing is, the kids of the family (and by kids, I mean the average age of the children are about my age) are all rock climbers, and the Toaster House has traditionally been the meeting grounds of all their climber friends from surrounding areas, who come to Pie Town for the annual festival, as well as for climbing (there is great climbing in the area).

So towards the evening, I was surrounded by rock climbers (mainly Boulderers) from Las Cruces, Tuscon, Albequerque and other places. All Jueco (a famous climbing area in west Texas) climbers. πŸ™‚ This was super awesome, as rock climbers are people I related to the most, after thru-hikers. Maybe because we’re all dirtbags, whether overtly so or deep down. Lol!

You know what’s funny, if it wasn’t for my dance career (and the fact that I live in Hawaii), I would totally be a dirtbag climber living out of a minivan with my bike, climbing gear, Butterstuff and the rest of my stuffed animal Clan, and a surfboard, cruising around the USA, chasing swell and warm weather. πŸ™‚ But alas, I can’t really live like that with my multiple closets full of costumes and performance shoes and craft items to make more costumes, etc. Lol! I guess you could say, dance keeps me grounded. And permanently in one place. πŸ™‚

Funny, since I was a little kid, I’ve wanted to be a nomad, kinda like a gypsy. So my entire life I spent acquiring very random and marketable skills, so that no matter where I lived in the world I could easily find a job. Just so happens the first place I went (Hawaii) I never wanted to leave. πŸ™‚ I guess you could say I found the completion of my soul there, in more ways than one. πŸ™‚

Ironically, here I am, in the middle of the desert. Physically and geographically the opposite of Hawaii. Interestingly enough, energetically it’s very similar. Hawaii pulses with an energy like I’ve never experienced anywhere else before. New Mexico also pulses with energy. Slightly more subtle, but no less present. It is truly a magical place. πŸ™‚

So now Hawaii is my Base Camp for my global adventures, which actually works out very conveniently because I’m literally in the middle if the Pacific Rim so getting anywhere in that region is relatively easy. My next massive adventure, at some point in the foreseeable future, is I’m going to do the Great Himalayan Trail. Or at least the Nepalese portion of it. Possibly on bike as well as on foot, although I dunno how the logistics would work out for that. But before that I need to learn how to do some alpine mountaineering.

And even before that, I need to ride about 300 more miles to finish this trip. πŸ˜›

Please leave a comment! :)

