Day 54: Sat 9/6, New Mexico!! Tough riding! 68 miles

No cows around me this morning! Lol! I didn’t sleep so well. I don’t know why. But hey, at least my stomach feels a lot better today yay! There’s still some traces of weirdness in there, but it is much better than yesterday.

Last night was my final night in Colorado, because today I crossed the state border into New Mexico! Yay!

IMG_4938.JPG

Oh man it was cold this morning! I woke up pretty early actually, which is awesome since I’ve been sleeping earlier too, since it gets dark by around 8. I really dig waking up earlier, problem is it is COLD!! Oh man, plus i started the morning with a descent so my hands were just frozen. Although honestly I have enough layers so that my body is warm, problem is my hands and my face get super cold on the downhills.

I passed a really neat sign today that talked about a narrow-gauge rail train that runs through the area. Nowadays it’s a tourist sightseeing train that runs 64 miles from Chamas, NM to Antonito, CO. Anyhow, on the sign it decoded what the different toots of the whistle meant. Cool!

IMG_4937.JPG

In the late morning I had a particularly crappy section of road to get through. It was a steep uphill, with loose ankle-twisting rocks that I had to push up because there was no way i would have been able to ride up it. Arg that section really sucked and was super slow going! Good thing it wasn’t too long.

IMG_4939.JPG

At the top I rode along an awesome ridge that looked down into a wilderness basin. It was really cool. Yay more ridge riding!

IMG_4940.JPG

I dropped in through a forest and popped out into another basin area. The variety of terrain I rode through today was quite diverse!

IMG_4942.JPG

Man, I am so glad I had good weather today! A lot of what I rode today would not have been doable if it was wet because it would have been muddy and impassable, which means I would have had to detour on the highway. That really would have sucked, since I dislike highway riding, and I would have missed all the awesome scenery!

Toward the end of the day I saw an awesome rainbow! Yay! Rainbows always make me happy. πŸ™‚ Even though I see rainbows almost daily in Hawaii, I will never tire of them πŸ™‚

IMG_4943.JPG

Throughout the course of today I saw lots of RV/camper/trailer encampments here and there. I honestly wonder how the heck people get those huge things up these gnarly roads! Since I entered New Mexico the roads have been really rough and many parts are rutted out. It’s tough for me on a bike, i can’t imagine how people tow campers to some of these spots. They must have to go soooooooo slow. Especially the ones with horse trailers.

I was going to try and push for 70 miles today, but then I came across a flat area with an amazing sunset behind it. It looked like the sky was on fire!

IMG_4944.JPG

I’m really glad I stopped, because shortly after I had my tent and all my stuff situated, it started raining. Accompanied by thunder and lightning. Whew! Good timing. At least it’s not consistent rain though. I really hope it dries out by morning, it would suck if it was muddy. :/

The moon is super bright tonight! Wow!! :D. I got this picture before it started raining. Here’s to positive thoughts for a dry morning! πŸ™‚

IMG_4945.JPG

One thought on “Day 54: Sat 9/6, New Mexico!! Tough riding! 68 miles

Please leave a comment! :)

