Day 50: Tues 9/2, Late Start, Big Pass!, pretty views :) 51miles

I woke up really late this morning. Bleh. :/ I dunno why but this whole weekend I didn’t sleep very well. It was definitely not a restful town stop. Lol. Generally on this trip, if I go to sleep late I also wake up late which throws everything else out of whack. Bleh. I finally got out of the Salida area around 2. I spent a good portion of the day looking for a mini USB charger for my bike light. Not sure why mini USBs are so hard to come by. Everyone has micro USB (popular cell phone charger), but no mini. No luck. Poop.

Well, so much for my aspirations of making it to Del Norte tomorrow. From where I’m at right now it’s a little over 100 miles away. I’m not sure I’m ambitious enough to ride 100 miles tomorrow. Lol! But who knows. We’ll see, it’s not entirely impossible. Ultimately it’ll depend on when I wake up.

It was a pretty big climb up to Marshall Pass. But the nice thing is, it was easy pedaling, as it was all railroad grade. Plus, the scenery was really pretty. I was happy. 🙂

IMG_4890.JPG

Even though it was definitely not strenuous, for some reason I’m just really tired. Well. Honestly I’m always tired everyday. Lol. But more so today, even though it was not difficult riding. Hm. It’s funny because a lot of what i rode today was a repeat of Sunday, when I rode the Monarch Crest trail. I had passed Marshall pass that day as well.

IMG_4891.JPG

The descent was pretty darn awesome. It was really pretty and scenic and it was a gentle grade down so I didn’t have to pedal and I didn’t have to brake. Yay! I went through beautiful aspen forests and awesome mountains, and it was just such a glorious descent :). And the weather was fantastic today too! Triple win!

IMG_4892.JPG

IMG_4893.JPG

So the bummer is, I have to ride a 12 mile section of hwy 50. Boo, pavement and highway riding!! 😦 and unfortunately since I started so late today I wasn’t able to make it past the highway section, and back on the gravel roads. Which means right now, I’m camped next to the highway. Double poop! 😦 I managed to find something like a ditch on the side of the road, between the highway and a barbed wire fence of someone’s ranch. So I’m relatively out of view of the highway, even though I’m right next to it. But I get to hear trucks and cars passing by all night, as it is a fairly traveled road. Yay….

On a positive note, the sunset was absolutely magnificent. 🙂

IMG_4894.JPG

One thought on “Day 50: Tues 9/2, Late Start, Big Pass!, pretty views :) 51miles

  1. Keala,
    It’s great to know you have hostel situations along the route and it’s easy to
    Understand how you’re tired when you’re close to traffic. It is much different
    Than the P.C.T. You hiked.

    There was a blog by three British youth going along the coastal highway from Canada
    To Mexico that I scanned. The fellow in the rear took the video of all three as
    They sped down the road, sometimes waving their arms! One man bought all three
    Breakfast! They arrived at Google HQ , SF, looking mildly tipsy. There were fine photos of them
    Biking through the Redwood Forests.

    Absolutely delighted the river was low enough to enjoy. I bet the trout find swimming
    A challenge too! Reminds me of my Father hand-tying (in a desk-vice) his
    Royal-Coachman flies for stream fishing. Get a Good SLEEP,! A RUSHING STREAM
    LIKE THE ICY MERCED RIVER (RIVER OF MERCY) ALWAYS CALMS THE SOUL.
    THE MIWOK INDIANS USED TO CAMP THERE TILL WINTER THEN MIGRATE TO
    PT. REYES TILL SPRING. CHIEF TENAYA HAS THE SPECTACULAR 10,000 ‘ LAKE
    NAMED AFTER HIM. HE HID AROUND THE SALT/PEPPER GRANITE SLABS
    FROM THE US CALVARY BEFORE YOSEMITE WAS A NATIONAL PARK. .

    Sabot Shakom, ( sounds pretty in song )
    Charles

Please leave a comment! :)

