Day 49: Mon 9/1, Whitewater SUP!

Happy Labor Day everyone! Hope everyone had a safe and fun weekend! I’m so stoked to be here in Salida for this holiday weekend. Usually when I’m on a trip like this, I avoid towns like the plague on a major weekend, because it’s usually super busy and stupid crowded. However, although Salida was pretty hopping with visitors it definitely wasn’t crowded. I think all the tourists went to Breckenridge. Haha! I was so grateful, I’m not really into huge crowds of humanity, especially on holiday weekends. I’m so stoked about this town. It is so awesome. πŸ™‚

I checked off another item on my bucket-list today! I went whitewater SUPing! Soooooo stoked! I’ve been wanting to do this FOREVER!! And it’s a great time to do it now, because since it’s so late in the season the river isn’t running too high so even all the rapids that are rated class III/IV were nowhere near that. It was perfect for me! I’ve never paddled an sup through whitewater before, so it was a new experience for me. But the rapids were pretty tiny so it was super duper fun! It is sooooo different paddling ocean and paddling a moving river. You have to read the water so differently, and the water behaves so differently! It was super awesome and I really learned a lot. The downside of the river running so low is that it’s suuuper shallow. Like, a couple of the rapids I went through I had to sit on the board, because the fins were scraping over rocks and it was so shallow I couldn’t really properly paddle. Lol. Oh man, i had soooooo much fun!

So another thing that is fantastic about Salida is that the Arkansas river runs right through town. So I just rented an SUP from a shop right next to the river, put in right there, and then paddled downriver about 10 or 12 miles. It didn’t take me very long, about 2.5 hours, and I almost went another 8 miles because it was so fun!! But I decided not to because I wanted to get back to Salida and chill and take care of some stuff. I came out at some campground, and I caught a ride back with some guy who finished a fly-fishing rafting tour, who goes by the name “caveman”. Lol, for reals, that’s what he introduced himself to me as. There were many many people fly fishing on the river, both from shore as well as off rafts.

I didn’t take any pics, because although my camera/phone is waterproof, I had no way to tether it to me while I was paddling.

I’m staying with another host tonight, since the person I was previously staying with (Roy) is hosting another Divide rider today. I found someone off warmshowers.org to host me yay! He has a nice backyard with a fantastic grass lawn for me to put my tent on. Yay! What luxury! Grass and soft and flat! Not a combination I usually get. Lol!

Oh, so the reason I have to say in town tonight is because I bought 3 bottles of wine from the Festival on Saturday, and since today is a holiday I can’t mail it out. So I just chilled in town and in my tent. There was one Vietnamese/Thai/Cambodian place in town that I went to go eat at because I was craving a bubble tea drink. Lol! I’m usually skeptical of “asian” food places in small towns, but the lady in the kitchen was Cambodian, so I had positive hopes. Sad to say, the food and boba drink was incredibly sub par. 😦 Poop. But the people were really nice πŸ™‚

Anyhow, back on route tomorrow! There’s a town I’m going to hit called Del Norte, it has a brewery in it. πŸ™‚ It’s about 155 miles away, I’m gonna see if I can get there in 2 days. πŸ™‚ there are some bigass climbs between there and here, let’s see how many miles I can hammer out tomorrow. πŸ™‚

One thought on “Day 49: Mon 9/1, Whitewater SUP!

  1. Awesomesauce!! So jealous you got to go Whitewater SUP. I can’t wait to try it!!!
    Next time you need a go pro hat! ID
    Oh.
    And Kanoa’s old school nickname was Caveman πŸ˜‰
    Miss you!!

Please leave a comment! :)

