Day 40: Friday 8/22, More Sessions and Riding!!

Yay for breakfast! This morning they served waffles, sausage, bacon, fruit and beverages. As well as an awesome morning presentation by a guy from Travel Oregon who was talking about how much cyclists were contributing to the travel economy in Oregon. It was a really awesome statistic filled presentation that I found fascinating. My favorite quote was “Cyclists make the best visitors. They come, eat your food, drink your beer, then go to sleep early.” Lol! Butterstuff was more focused on the food.

IMG_4830.JPG

The two sessions I attended today was Risk Management and Destination Branding. The first presentation was great. It was very broad (Risk Management could be an entire conference in and of itself) yet informative. The Destination Branding one was….kind of lame. I really wanted to leave and go to a different session but since I was sitting in the front I don’t think there was a subtle and non-tacky way to do it. Lol. Oh well.

Recess time!! :). Today was my Specialized demo day. The quiver today consisted of: Status, Enduro Sworks, and Stumpjumper Evo.

IMG_4833.JPG

IMG_4832.JPG

IMG_4831.JPG

It was not a good idea to start with the Status. That bike is so insane, it is way more bike than I would ever need. Which I knew. But since they had one in my size (XS), I thought, hey why not? Here’s a kook’s perspective on riding a downhill bike: It’s like walking a very strong dog that likes to pull very hard. It was honestly really scary. I don’t know how to better explain it, other than the bike seems to have a mind of it’s own. Every opportunity it had to go faster it would just try to take off. I really had to brake around corners and turns because I was pretty sure the bike would just throw me off otherwise. Lol. By the way, the Status is the bike Glenn rides at home. This experience today supports my theory that downhill riders are crazy. Lol!

Anyhow, it was a mistake riding the Status first. It really messed with my head, and when I went for my next ride (on the Enduro), I was riding like crap. I just wasn’t doing so good. Poop. Because that enduro is an awesome bike. I took the Stumpjumper out last. I decided to try and clear my head so when i got to the top of the gondola, I climbed up another 1,000′ (there were more trails up top but you had to pedal to it). It was really awesome riding up there, there was nobody around. I really liked the Stumpjumper bike, but I kept hitting the pedals on rocks. Boo.

I made it down the hill in time for a Summit closing note talk by BikeSnobNYC. He is a columnist for Bicycle magazine as well as a somewhat infamous superstar in the cycling blog world. Oh my gosh this guy is so funny. It was like a standup comedy show for an hour, but all cycling related. As a bonus, the beer for this session was sponsored by Avery brewing from Boulder. Butterstuff really liked the beers.

IMG_4834.JPG

IMG_4835.JPG

IMG_4836.JPG

Oh man, that was a fantastic close to the day. Lol! And the best part, tomorrow we’re getting shuttled to a trailhead to do an Epic (long and scenic) trail ride! I’m so excited! The bike I’ll be using is the Pivot Mach 5.7, which I am so stoked to get to try out!!

Gosh I’m tired. Must be all the activity 🙂 I went back to the mansion and just passed out. So much for using the hot tub! I lay down and didn’t wake up til the next morning. Lol!

2 thoughts on “Day 40: Friday 8/22, More Sessions and Riding!!

Please leave a comment! :)

