Day 34: Saturday 8/16, COLORADO!!! :) 65 miles

I was woken up at 5:45am today by construction vehicles and trucks driving by. Which is perfect because I needed to get an early start anyways. I rode into a forest today yay!!! It’s the first time I’ve seen trees in a few days. Lol! Aspen trees for now, not pine. I’m pretty stoked to be back in the mountains. That makes me happy 🙂

20140816-170614-61574758.jpg

I rode through an area called Aspen Alley. I guess it’s pretty famous, and many photographers and artists come here, especially in the fall when the leaves change color. It’s just like the Tunnel of Trees on Kauai.

20140816-170912-61752425.jpg

The mountains are pretty cool! They’re looking pointier! Perhaps it’s because I’m getting closer to Colorado? 🙂

20140816-171052-61852109.jpg

At long last, I crossed the border!!! 🙂 I was so stoked. Northern Wyoming was awesome, but the rest of the state was kind of…weird. I dunno. Maybe I’m just so spoiled because Canada and Montana was so amazing that my standards are just ridiculous. Lol. I don’t really get it though, Wyoming has everything Montana does, but it’s just…lacking. Lol. I dunno. I really did enjoy my time here though. But, I’m stoked I’m in Colorado! Whoo hoo!!

20140816-171858-62338826.jpg

The landscape was interesting this afternoon. Lots of sage still but more topography for sure.

20140817-142946-52186160.jpg

This afternoon I stopped at an *amazing* place! It’s called Brush Mountain Lodge and they totally cater to cyclists. Everything there is by donation only, including lodging, and food. This place was absolutely amazing. Had I know how cool it was, I totally would have stopped here instead of Rawlins. Damn! When I rolled up, there were 4 other cyclists there, who were section riders. I just happened to show up right when they were having lunch, so I got a cheeseburger and beer. YUM! :D. I ended up hanging out for over 3 hours there. Lol! I actually could have made it to Steamboat Springs today if I didn’t chill here for so long. Haha. Ah well it’s all good. It was truly one of my favorite places on this trip so far. They are so awesome and incredible here.

20140817-143040-52240133.jpg

I rode til well past dark. Not because I wanted to, but because I couldn’t find a flat-ish spot that didn’t have knee high shrubbery all over. I did catch the sunset though! Gosh it was pretty. 🙂

20140817-143743-52663001.jpg

I finally found a place to throw my tent up. Oh my gosh the dirt is so soft! It’s almost like a mattress! Lol! Definitely the softest ground I’ve slept on the whole trip, except for when I camped at the cut park in Eureka, MT (that grass was sooooo comfy!). Hopefully it doesn’t rain, because since the ground is so soft my tent stakes aren’t as solidly grounded as it usually is, and if it rains and the ground gets soft, my stakes might pull out.

Tomorrow morning I have a steep 1.5mile uphill, which I’ll probably end up walking, then downhill to Steamboat Springs! Yay! I’m so stoked to be back in the forest again. It should be a lovely and scenic day tomorrow 🙂

5 thoughts on “Day 34: Saturday 8/16, COLORADO!!! :) 65 miles

    • The whole trip? Lowest was 34 degrees. Highest almost 100. Been in hail, rain, thunder, lightning, as well as very heavy winds, and calm days. Last couple days it’s been highs in 80s, lows in 60s and very nice.

  1. Keala,
    I never tire of reading your account. Glad you got a river swim at last.
    Maybe in 400 years those desolate areas will have modern living quarters!

    I lived in Sherwood Forest for about a decade before finally gettins an
    Apartment . Go Army!

    Charles

    • I sure as hell hope not, people need to stop developing wild areas and just leave it alone. Seriously. It is incredibly disheartening to see traces of humanity *everywhere*. 😦

Please leave a comment! :)

