Day 24: Weds 8/6, Yellowstone day 3!, 68 miles

Wow Yellowstone is big! I feel like I’m riding forever, and I’m still not getting anywhere. Lol! It’s cool though, despite the amount of roads and “villages” there are in the park, it all still comprises about 3% of the park, the rest of the 97% is wilderness. Cool!

I rode through the Northern Range of the park today. Beautiful sweeping plains area. I saw lots more bison. The north side of the park is the drier side, it’s about 2,000′ lower in elevation than the rest of the park, and much drier (average rainfall 15″ a year). This would explain why I didn’t get rained on til I rode up the pass.

20140810-130943-47383350.jpg

Yellowstone, in it’s much earlier years, used to be a very different climate. It is also a huge volcanic area. Yay! I like volcanic areas, I find them fascinating. Anyhow, a clue to its past is the remains of a redwood tree, which has been petrified by volcanic ash and is now rock.

20140810-131116-47476501.jpg

Because I started at a lower elevation, that meant this entire day was pretty much a gigantic climb. Ugh. Plus there was no shoulder. Double ugh!! Despite the terrifying aspect of road riding on a 2 lane highway, I did find vehicles to be mostly respectful of my presence. They would generally give me a lot of room when passing. Still, when a gigantic RV rolls by me, and I feel the whoosh of its side mirror, it’s pretty damn scary. As I was doing the longass climb, a couple vehicles would root for me and cheer me on. Lol! That was cool. Plus, the scenery was absolutely incredible. That always makes everything better πŸ™‚

20140810-131253-47573558.jpg

In 1988, a gigantic wildfire devastated much of Yellowstone. Throughout all my riding, I could see the aftermath of that: younger, lighter color patches of trees next to darker older trees which survived the fires. As well as burned trees. It made for an interesting calico-like patchwork of color on the hillsides. πŸ™‚

20140810-131452-47692913.jpg

I finally got to the top of the pass and it was COLD. I’ve been getting rained on the whole time towards the top. Good thing I have a lot of layers πŸ™‚ I think Dunraven Pass is the highest elevation I’ve been in, thus far.

20140810-131635-47795585.jpg

One of the main things I was really excited to see today was the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone. I absolutely looooooove rocks, and canyons are so awesomely beautiful. I only had time to check it out briefly though, because I got there pretty late in the day and I still had a ways to go to get to my campground. The canyon definitely did not disappoint. The colors were spectacular! It always amazes me how trees are still able to grow on near vertical hillsides.

20140810-131729-47849298.jpg

I also got a glimpse of Lower falls. It was just wonderful. πŸ™‚

20140810-131824-47904510.jpg

20140810-131824-47904967.jpg

20140810-131826-47906400.jpg

Oh! I finally saw a grizzly bear! Now I’m almost through the complete spectrum of major Yellowstone wildlife. The only thing I have yet to see is a wolf. πŸ™‚ I was riding down the road and suddenly there were a crapload of cars stopped, with people all over the place taking pictures. In Yellowstone, this means “wildlife sighting!” Haha. Leslie and Keith (my Banff trail angels) call it a G-bear jam. Grizzly bear jam. Indeed it was! I didn’t stop to watch the bear because I needed to keep moving, as I was running out of daylight and I *needed* to get to my campsite. However I did turn around briefly to see it slowly meandering through the field. I did take a pic, the bear was so far away I’m not sure if you can even see it in the photo. In the middle of the pic there’s a small pool of water way in the back, the bear is on top of the ridge directly above where the water is.

20140810-131935-47975658.jpg

Well, I didn’t get into camp til about 10pm. Doh!! That’s ok. I saw a lot of really awesome things today. Damn it is cold!! I’m not even going to bother boiling water for dinner. I’m just going to make a roll with tortillas, cream cheese, and cotto salami. It’s actually really yummy πŸ™‚ A nice change from my tortilla/peanut butter/honey. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Day 24: Weds 8/6, Yellowstone day 3!, 68 miles

  1. Cool to see that Thudbuster on your bike. Such an under-rated form of shock absorption. Got one on my former trail/now commute bike. I don’t foresee myself doing a ride like you are doing, so I am enjoying the experience vicariously!

  2. Keala,
    It was great reading about the railroad logging crews! Wake up Paul Bunyon,!
    Your dialogue is like Conrad’s “Heart of Darkness.” I guess you heard Southern
    Pacific Railroad. Merged with a bigger money maker RR in the 1980’s. Leland
    Stanford profited enough to become a California Senator. When his son died on vacation
    In Italy, he and Jane Stanford built the University in his memory.

    It’s great you’ve had pleasant weather; it seems like entire West Coast could
    Benefit from a few heavy storms. Your trip has inspired me to plan
    A. HawaiiOahu Trip,too,just have A Roadmaster but I have good leg strength.
    Really. Proud you’ve negotiated on 2 wheels so well by day 42. My Wyoming,
    Fly-fisherman Father would have loved those stream photos and every other
    One,, too. He worked for Southern Pacific in San FRANCISCO.

    Sincerely an Admirer of Your ESPRIT,
    Charles
    I

Please leave a comment! :)

