Day 21: Sun 8/3, 3 Amazing Things Today!, 82 miles

Today is one of those days that started out boring, then ended up EPIC! πŸ˜€ I was riding through lots of farmland again. Boooooring! Lol.

20140804-110713-40033941.jpg

After around 35 miles I entered a wildlife refuge (yay! Interesting scenery! Lol!), and they had a little headquarters building. Cool! I saw Beau (Bo?) there, he’s the rider I’ve been leapfrogging with since the beginning of my ride. We were chatting and he was commenting on how today was some pretty tough riding. I thought so too! I don’t know how because the physics don’t make sense. Elevation profile was almost flat. But there were lots of little mini ups and downs in between. Plus it was hot and exposed, and there was a lot of wind, which usually isn’t blowing the same direction I’m going. Lol! I was pretty tired after just 35 miles, but I thought I was just being a sissy! I’m glad Beau thought it was tough too, maybe I’m not so much of a pansy. Lol! :D. Here’s a pic of the visitor center:

20140804-111941-40781121.jpg

Oh! So, three amazing things happened today!!
Amazing thing #1) I crossed the Montana/Idaho state line, when I did my Divide crossing! I absolutely loved Montana. I am so blessed to have gotten to ride almost 700 miles of it. Montana is so beautiful, the people are so friendly and wonderful, and the hospitality is just incredible. I am so enamored with this state. πŸ™‚ It may possibly be my favorite state in the lower 48! I would never live here, but I am so incredibly grateful I got to tour this wonderful state in such an intimate way. A hui hou Montana, and helloooooo Idaho!!

20140804-111925-40765756.jpg

Amazing thing #2) At some point today, I crossed the 1,000 mile mark! Holy crap I can’t believe I’ve ridden this much already, I felt like I just left Banff! Lol!

Amazing thing #3) I rode 82 miles to get into the town of West Yellowstone (it’s a super touristy town right outside of the west entrance of Yellowstone NP). This is a pretty big deal for me, as I’m not a high mileage rider. Oh man my butt hurts like crazy!! Holy macaroni. The last 15 miles in was *tough*!! I was doing shots of whiskey every 3 miles to keep me going. Lol! Oh man I was so stoked to make it into town before sundown! I went to the Buffalo Bar to celebrate. πŸ™‚ I wolfed down some delicious Mac n Cheese with buffalo meat, and some yummy beers from local Montana breweries. Two beers max! I still needed to figure out where I’m sleeping. Lol.

20140804-113224-41544914.jpg

Funny, I’m technically in Montana again. And once I enter the park I’ll be in Wyoming. Lol! So I guess I was in Idaho for only about 30 or so miles. But here’s a view of Idaho:

20140804-113430-41670321.jpg

I ended up stealth camping on the edge of town. And by that I mean, I rode out to the edge of town, and threw my tent up behind some trees and hope no one sees me. Haha! Not sure if I’m trespassing on anyone’s property, although by the looks of it, I don’t think anyone would care.

I get to play tourist in Yellowstone for a few days! Kyle and his crew don’t get into the park til weds/thurs, so I’m gonna cruise around the park til then and sightsee. Yay!! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Day 21: Sun 8/3, 3 Amazing Things Today!, 82 miles

Please leave a comment! :)

