Day 12: Fri 7/25, Glorious Trails! And Seely Lake 56 miles

Whoo hoo I fixed my brakes this morning!! When I called Glenn yesterday he said I could just take a flathead screwdriver and pry the brake pad open. Problem is, the flathead tool on my multi-tool is too short. But, I had my plastic brake shim! It’s the little piece that wedges between the brake pads; from when my bike was boxed up for the plane ride over. I kept that piece because I had a feeling it would come in handy. And it did! Whoo hoo! I used that shim and at rock and hammered it in between the pads and so my rotor could fit again. And it worked!! Yay I’m so stoked i have working rear brakes again!!! šŸ˜€

20140726-100214-36134492.jpg

Today’s riding was absolutely glorious. It was so beautiful. On one side of me, in the distance, were glacial capped mountains, and on the other side were lower yet equally beautiful mountains.

20140726-100325-36205897.jpg

20140726-100325-36205301.jpg

I got a late start riding today, plus I was climbing most of the day. Which was probably why my mileage is kind of low. Well, that and I stopped in town longer than I should have. Lol! But still, every now and then I gotta stop and enjoy the scenery. The smell from all the trees and flowers are soooo amazing!

20140726-100508-36308225.jpg

Towards the top of my climb the trail narrowed. It was the most fun part of riding thus far! I had a mountain on my right and an absolutely amazing view of the valley on my left.

20140726-100618-36378967.jpg

20140726-100617-36377813.jpg

That part of riding was so fun, and coming down from the peak was super fun too! It’s times like that I feel like I’m actually mountain biking! Lol! As opposed to, riding a gravel road. I came across a field full of my favorite flower/plant. It’s called Beargrass (I don’t know why), and when I first saw it, I thought it looked like a microphone. šŸ™‚ it’s actually a cluster of tiny flowers, it’s really pretty.

20140726-100727-36447548.jpg

I rode about 4 miles off route to go to a small town called Seely Lake. I needed to replenish my tortilla supply. And call Glenn. šŸ™‚ I finally tried some Huckleberry ice cream. Huckleberry is a big deal in these parts. It only grows above a certain elevation, and it only grows wild. And there’s tons of it out here, I see vehicles parked on the sides of the forest roads I ride; everyone is out picking huckleberry. šŸ™‚

When I got back on route, around 8pm I saw some people picking huckleberry, and I went to pick some with them. They look just like blueberries, a little smaller, and more red. Yummy. šŸ™‚

I rode til 9:30 today, trying to get some miles in. Tomorrow I will stop in Lincoln, MT to resupply and then I have a pretty long stretch of riding before I hit another town. Including several Continental divide crossings. That means, lots of climbing and higher elevation. Yikes! šŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Day 12: Fri 7/25, Glorious Trails! And Seely Lake 56 miles

  1. I love it when you can eat wild berries and things. Brings to mind the phrase “eating off the fat of the land.” Probably healthy too!

  2. How often do you get to bathe or shower? I’m guessing you wait till you get to some park facility? You mentioned seeing the Milky Way earlier. The night sky must be unreal. Your trip has been awesome so far. Looking forward to the rest of it.

    • Haha. Um… Well put it this way I haven’t showered since I got into Whitefish. On trail, I use baby-wipes to clean myself off. I wash my shirt in creeks I pass, before I go into towns so I’m not super gnarly. But I don’t like jumping in lakes and creeks cuz it’s frickin COLD. Lol.

Please leave a comment! :)

